Theodore Roosevelt National Park

North Dakota

Theodore Roosevelt National Park is a national park located in the U.S. state of North Dakota. Named after the 26th President of the United States, Theodore Roosevelt, the park was established to honor his contributions to the conservation of natural resources. The park is divided into three units:

  1. South Unit:
    • The South Unit, near the town of Medora, is the most frequently visited section of the park. It features scenic drives, hiking trails, and overlooks that provide stunning views of the badlands terrain. Wildlife such as bison, elk, prairie dogs, and various bird species can often be spotted.
  2. North Unit:
    • The North Unit is located about 80 miles north of the South Unit and offers similar landscapes with badlands formations, prairie, and wildlife. It has a scenic drive, trails for hiking, and opportunities for wildlife viewing.
  3. Elkhorn Ranch Unit:
    • The Elkhorn Ranch Unit, located between the North and South Units, preserves the site of Theodore Roosevelt’s ranch. Visitors can see the landscape that inspired the president’s conservation efforts and enjoy a more remote and rugged experience.

The park is known for its colorful badlands, diverse wildlife, and the Little Missouri River that meanders through the area. Visitors can explore the park through scenic drives, hiking, camping, and ranger-led programs. Theodore Roosevelt National Park provides a unique opportunity to experience the beauty of the North Dakota badlands and connect with the natural and historical legacy of Theodore Roosevelt.

Related Articles